The Murray-Darling Basin

The Murray Darling Basin Rivers, tributaries, and waterways

Covering almost 15% of the total area of Australia, the Murray Darling Basin offers the ultimate country and outback experiences, iconic towns/localities and touring routes. The iconic and well-known Darling River Run is one of many outback touring routes of the region.

Being within two hours drive of 75% of Australia's urban centres that make up our eastern capitals (Brisbane, Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, and Adelaide), as well as our inland cities like Toowoomba, Bendigo, Albury Wodonga, Tamworth, Dubbo, Orange, Wagga Wagga, it provides domestic tourism with a vast array of destinations, experiences, and activities.

The Murray–Darling Basin, the catchment for Australia's most extensive river system with its two main rivers being the Murray River and the Darling River, includes over 77,000 kilometres of rivers and waterways encompassing the states of Queensland, New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, and South Australia.

The basin covers an area of 1,062,025 km2 (almost 15% of the total area of Australia).

The MDB is a diverse area associated with wool, cotton, wheat, sheep, cattle, dairy, rice, oil-seed, viticulture, as well as horticultural; it accounts for 40% of Australia's farms.

As Australia's most important agricultural region, the Murray Darling Basin produces 30% of Australia's food supply and supports over 30% of Australia's total gross value of agricultural production.

While the Murray Darling Basin is responsible for providing much of the water required for the irrigated sector of agriculture across the region, it is also home to some of the most significant, and culturally relevant, heritage sites in Australia.

Within the Murray-Darling basin, there is an extensive network of waterways that feed the two prime rivers of the region, the Murray and Darling Rivers.

Quick Links: